Hello world!

There are a lot of things in this world that get on my nerves (trust me, A LOT), a few of which will be addressed in this blog.

1)   People who say they like art but only if it’s “realistic” or your standard painting or sculpture.

2)   People who have strong opinions against pieces but don’t want to bother learning how to                   understand them.

3)   Young artists who don’t give a damn about artists who are working right now.

Hopefully, if you are any of, or all of these, I can change your mind by the end of the year. This blog will contain art theory, art history and art news. I will give my opinions on pieces and teach you how to look at them. I will tell you about exhibitions and lectures I attend as well as share book and movie reviews. However, first and foremost, I will provide you with 1 artist every day for the next 365 days.

Before I begin, there are a few things I want to make absolutely clear. These are of course my opinions, if you disagree, please feel free to share those feelings.

What is art?

Who decides?

What is an artist?

Who can call themselves an artist?

Questions like this can make your head spin so here are my own answers. Art is a giant grey area. Art is queer. As Andy Warhol said “Art is whatever you can get away with”.

What Andy got away with. Oxidation (1978)

Who decides? The viewer. People have been disagreeing on art for a long long time and they aren’t going to stop now. I can call Duchamps “The Fountain” art and I guarantee you that someone will disagree with me.

BRILLIANT!!!

“When you make something no one hates, no one will love it.” said Tibor Kalman.

Vote Tibor!

What is an artist? An artist is someone who places their creativity on the rack and twists the wheels until it cries out and begs for mercy. Even if what is produced is as simple and minimal as a Stella or as complex and thought out as an Old Master’s piece. Who can call themselves an artist? An artist is anyone who produces something to communicate something. Even if what they are trying to communicate is “I want to do something different.”

I want to challenge you and I want to teach you.

Enjoy,

The Pythia

Leave a Reply

